Archive for September 2018

Celebrating the best in hair, beauty and barbering – finalists announced

The Industry Awards 2018

Finalists have been announced for The Industry Awards, which celebrate the talent in New Zealand’s hair, beauty and barbering industries.

Hundreds of entries were received for the awards, which recognise business success, exceptional training, creative skills and excellent apprentices.

The winners will be announced on November 11th at The Industry Awards, an annual glamourous ceremony at the Cordis Hotel, Auckland.

The awards are jointly hosted by the New Zealand Hair and Beauty Industry Training Organisation (HITO), Kitomba Salon & Spa Software and the New Zealand Association of Registered Hairdressers.

The Industry Awards 2018 finalists

Business Awards

New Zealand Hair Salon of the Year  

  • Aurum Hairstylists & Barbers (Dunedin) 
  • Fox Hair Blonde Bar (Hamilton) 
  • La Villa Hairdressing and Extensions (Wellington)  
  • Rodney Wayne Dominion Road (Auckland) 
  • Tayla’d Styling (Auckland) 

New Zealand Beauty Salon of the Year 

  • Alluminus Beauty Therapy (Greytown) 
  • Cocoon Beauty & Day Spa (Rangiora) 
  • FaceTime Skin Clinic (Auckland) 
  • Pamper Me Medispa (Thames) 
  • Pania Ryan Beauty Retreat (Palmerston North) 

Top Performing Stylist of the Year 

  • Jasmine Hutchings – La Villa Hairdressing and Extensions (Wellington)  
  • Jasmin Ure – La Villa Hairdressing and Extensions (Wellington)  
  • Kiri Roberts – Mane Salon (Wellington)  
  • Renee Letcher – Fox Hair Blonde Bar (Hamilton) 
  • Tayla Carpenter – Tayla’d Styling (Auckland)

Excellence in Marketing 

  • Body Glow Spray Tanning (Rangiora) 
  • La Villa Hairdressing and Extensions (Wellington)  
  • Pania Ryan Beauty Retreat (Palmerston North) 
  • Shazly Experience Hair and Wellness (Wellington)  
  • Zaibatsu Hair Art (Dunedin) 

Sustainable Salon of the Year 

  • Amanda Baker Hair & Makeup (Auckland) 
  • Chairs Hair Design (Otaki) 
  • Cocoon Hair Design (Timaru) 
  • Cremebrulee Hair & Beauty (Taupo) 
  • Scout (Wellington)    

Best Salon Design 

  • Dinh Collective (Christchurch) 
  • Glamour Hair Boutique (Auckland) 
  • Mancraft Barbers (Taupo) 
  • Niche Boutique Hair Salon (Palmerston North) 
  • Pamper Me MediSpa (Thames) 


Training Awards 

Apprentice of the Year 

  • Emily Kate Southern (Northern) 
  • Courtney Hale (Central North)  
  • Jade Scott (Central)   
  • Libby Fleck (Southern)

Workplace of the Year 

  • Pania Ryan Beauty Retreat (Palmerston North) 
  • Reds Hairdressing (Porirua)  
  • Spectra (Palmerston North) 

Industry Trainer of the Year 

  • Natasha Bird – MPhosis Hair Studio (Hastings) 
  • Patricia Ross – Ross & Co Hair Design (Hamilton) 
  • Victoria Thrussell – Bliss Hair Salon (Auckland) 

Jasmine McBeth Memorial Scholarship 

  • Bethany Stringer – Minx Hair Spa (Ashburton)          
  • Jade Scott – VIVO Hair and Beauty Tory St (Wellington)  
  • Jason Parker – Dragonfly Hair Design (Wellington) 


Creative Awards 

Editorial Stylist of the Year – Colour Concept 

  • Caren Mackay – Do Hair (Invercargill) 
  • Irihia Bourke – Morph Hair Studio (Hamilton) 
  • Kylie Hayes – Moha (Dunedin) 
  • Kylie Pointon – Glamour Hair Boutique (Auckland) 
  • Natasha King – Freds Hair and Beauty (Invercargill) 

Editorial Stylist of the Year – Le Male 

  • Irihia Bourke – Morph Hair Studio (Hamilton) 
  • Mana Dave – Blaze (Auckland) 
  • Nellie Rogers – KN Colab (New Plymouth) 
  • Patreece Corban – Cremebrulee Hair and Beauty (Taupo) 
  • Warren Dion Smith – Hair and Makeup Artist (Wellington) 

Editorial Stylist of the Year – Next Generation Stylist 

  • Ashlee Lewis – Nova Hair Boutique (Gisborne) 
  • Irihia Bourke – Morph Hair Studio (Hamilton) 
  • Natalie Knox – Zibido (Hamilton) 
  • Savanna Ferrel – Mane Salon (Wellington) 

Editorial Stylist of the Year – Novice Champion 

  • Amrin Piuza – Servilles Academy (Auckland) 
  • Chloe O’Donell – BHB Academy (Palmerston North) 

Editorial Stylist of the Year – Derek Elvy Visionary Award 

  • Anthony Bayer – Anthony Bayer Hair (Auckland) 
  • Caren Mackay – Do Hair (Invercargill) 
  • Christopher Woods – Vivo Chancery CBD (Auckland) 
  • Courtney Taylor – Buoy Salon and Spa (Wellington) 
  • Natasha King – Freds Hair and Beauty (Invercargill) 

Regional Finalists – Auckland 

  • Kylie Pointon – Glamour Hair Boutique (Auckland) 
  • Nirender Kaur – Vivo Mount Eden (Auckland) 

Regional Finalists – Bay of Plenty 

  • Chrissy de Mey – Vivo Bethlehem (Tauranga) 
  • Elyse Bowyer – Cremebrulee Hair and Beauty (Taupo) 
  • Nicky Crombie – Vivo Bethlehem (Tauranga) 
  • Patreece Corban – Cremebrulee Hair and Beauty (Taupo) 

Regional Finalists  Canterbury 

  • Amber King – True Grit  
  • Gemma Woods – Surreal  
  • Willow Cox – Rodney Wayne Northlands  

Regional Finalists – Hawkes Bay 

  • Bonnie Stewart – Pure Hair 
  • Kelly McKenzie – Pure Hair 
  • Megan Perfect – Pure Hair 
  • Meredith van der Linden – Pure Hair 

Regional Finalists  Manawatu 

  • Amelia London – Spectra Hair and Beauty 
  • Carrie Fraser – Niche Boutique Hair Salon 
  • Gillian Gosper – UCOL 

Regional Finalists  Otago 

  • Jaimee Smith – Zaibatsu Hair Art 
  • Kimberlie Dunn – Zaibatsu Hair Art 
  • Kylie Hayes – Moha 
  • Mikaela Campbell – Opulence Hair 

Regional Finalists – Poverty Bay 

  • Ashlee Lewis – Nova Hair Boutique 
  • Ashleigh George – House of Hair 
  • Claudette Lewington – Nova Hair Boutique 
  • Emma Smith – House of Hair 
  • Sam Virtue – Nova Hair Boutique 

Regional finalists – South Canterbury 

  • Debbie Tiddy – Fusion Hair Design 
  • Rachel Batchelor – Wellcut and More 
  • Ricky Arras – RA Hair 

Regional finalists – Southland 

  • Caren Mackay – Do Hair 
  • Natasha King – Freds Hair and Beauty 
  • Vanessa White – Vision Hair and Beauty 

Regional finalists  Taranaki 

  • Kerrie Jordan – KN Colab 

Regional finalists  Waikato 

  • Dave Rogers – Morph Hair 
  • Irihia Bourke – Morph Hair 
  • Shannon Dowd – Zibido 

Regional finalists – Wellington 

  • Michael Beel – Buoy Salon and Spa 
  • Nichola Miti – Reds Hairdressing Salon 
  • Warren Dion Smith – Hair and Makeup Artist  

Patrick Cameron Instagram Challenge – Under 4 years in the Industry 

  • Ayrton Quader – BHB Academy (Palmerston North) 
  • Hayley Makinson – Lifestyle Hair Studio (Paraparaumu) 
  • Shaquelle Leitch – MeCHE Hair (Hawkes Bay) 
  • Sophie Squires – Southern Institute of Technology (Invercargill) 

Patrick Cameron Instagram Challenge – Over 4 years in the Industry 

  • Cathy Davys – Vivo Tory Street (Wellington) 
  • Caren Mackay – Do Hair (Invercargill) 
  • Nicole Higgs – MeCHE Hair (Hawkes Bay) 

The winners will be announced at The Industry Awards event on the 11th of November 2018. The event is being held at the Cordis Hotel in Auckland. To attend, purchase your tickets now.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!